I Will Not Be Bothered With Facts or the Truth!

17 Feb

Racist America

I am growing exceedingly weary of the very insane population of Americans that are still going on and on about President Obama’s citizenship and religion, not the least of which smacks of blatant racism.  When I read that ‎51% of voters who say they are likely to cast ballots in a Republican primary next year believe President Obama was not born in the U.S., I was floored. Really? Really, there are that many STUPID people? This makes me want to cry. Are all of these people being educated by Michele Bachmann?  There are two articles I would like to point people to: The first is by Lex about Science and the second is by my husband about language. Of course, Speaker of the House John Boehner waste no time in trying to take control of women’s bodies, and says he is “after the truth for the American People,” but clearly encourages the LIES about our president. I am incensed that tax payer money is going to the likes of Boehner, Issa, and his cronies to LIE to the American public. Click here to see the full article. I grow quite tired of the GOP’s tactic of “If I say it over and over again, it must be true.” I also grow tired of the increasing racism in the United States.  Click here to see this horribly racist cartoon of Michelle Obama and President Obama. I am further disgusted with the House of Representatives for getting paid by tax dollars to waste our money by perpetuating lies about whether or not President Obama is a citizen and or Muslim. Not only does it waste our funds, but actively participates and encourages a racist culture. These same folks also enjoy Health Care Benefits–the same benefits they want to deny other Americans.  I will sign off of this article by saying: The Personal is Political–Words and Facts Have Meaning.

4 Responses to “I Will Not Be Bothered With Facts or the Truth!”

  1. webwordwarrior February 17, 2011 at 12:54 pm #

    What a magnificent post, Michael. This is some of the best articulated rage I’ve read. The hypocrisy, double-standards, and outright lies are mind-boggling.

    That cartoon is loathsome. It doesn’t even remotely pass the lampoon or satire tests. It makes no real point, misrepresents any facts about the First Lady, plays to horrific stereotypes, AND is neither funny nor educational. Who agreed to publish that?

    As for your larger point about being fact averse, it’s a sad truth. Give the Right wing a talking point and they’re happy as can be. Give them facts and suddenly you’ve been brainwashed or are simply lying. Another great example is our old friend NW Republican, who takes a page right out of Boehner’s book. He accepts an anonymous, clearly repurposed email about the President’s college as clear fact yet rejects Snopes’ carefull research as evasive and weak. Here’s the direct link if you want to give him the click count.

    Thank you for assembling such a great overview of the obfuscation and bias that dominates Teabagistan.

    • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt February 17, 2011 at 2:28 pm #

      Teabagistan 🙂 Lex, thank you for your kind words and thank you for including the link. I love that we here at TSP try to always provide evidence and facts and support our stories. Thank you, Lex.

  2. Will S. February 26, 2011 at 10:13 pm #

    Excellent post! And very descriptive of my own personal Beck-loving troll Robin, I might add. I also really liked Robert’s post that you linked, but I guess I saw it too late to be able to compliment him directly on it. I’ve got a lot of relatives who don’t even want to “tolerate” gay people, much less accept them, and it just kills me. Most of them lived through the civil rights movements of the 50’s and 60’s, but they still want gay couples to be “separate but equal,” forgetting that separate is inherently UNequal. Tell your husband I said good job, for whatever that’s worth.

    • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt February 27, 2011 at 7:08 am #

      Will, thank you for your kind words and for publishing a blog that is fact based. Yes, I’m aware of the troglodyte Robin that seems to be stalking you. My husband Robert also says thank you for your kind words and is glad you enjoyed his post.

Leave a comment