Let Bigotry Reign Supreme: New Republican Motto

14 Jun

Ship of Fools

Thank you to my friend Jim for sharing the youtube video of the Republican debate last night. I’m afraid I was not able to stomach watching the entire thing last night.  Talk abut a group of people that can really make me feel ashamed of being an American.  What rock did these people crawl out from under?  I feel horrible for all the foster children Bachmann had influence over.  As a gay man, I found it disgusting and horribly bigoted that not one of the Republican candidates is for marriage equality or will support the repeal of DADT.  They are supposed to protect the citizens of the country, not discriminate against us!   If you are a gay Republican, shame on you!  Click here to see the video.

6 Responses to “Let Bigotry Reign Supreme: New Republican Motto”

  1. demandprogress June 14, 2011 at 8:54 am #

    This week, a bill could pass that would alter Internet freedom forever. The 10 Strikes Bill, put forth by Senator Amy Klobuchar (D-MI), classifies streaming copyright infringing music or movies over the Internet a felony, and after 10 strikes, you could face jail time. Sign our petition to stop this madness: http://bit.ly/ikg2ZZ

    Techdirt asserts that you could face five years in jail for simply embedding a youtube video, and that the laws apply to children who put videos of themselves lip syncing to popular songs on youtube.

    Once again, the government shows a fundamental lack of understanding of the Internet and Internet freedom. Instead of writing a set of laws that would be quickly evaded, we should be working towards a new set of standards to protect Intellectual Property while accommodating the freedom of information the Internet provides. The force behind the bill, the Motion Picture Association of America, acts solely in Hollywood’s interest.

    Protect your own interests and sign our petition to keep the Internet free!
    http://bit.ly/ikg2ZZ

  2. Podunk June 15, 2011 at 6:39 am #

    So, even though I don’t support a single one of those fools, shame on me? What the hell Michael, I can’t imagine you being a fellow who uses, much less favors, blanket statements. Bitch about their supporters sure, but don’t blame all of us because we don’t have any candidates worth a damn.

    • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt June 15, 2011 at 6:44 am #

      Podunk, I am most certainly blasting the people that are being chosen to lead the Republican party, for which I offer no apology. I am more than happy and would be thrilled to celebrate a Republican candidate that did not participate in discriminating against the LGBT community and against women. If you have someone for me to acknowledge, please do let me know.

  3. Podunk June 15, 2011 at 6:54 am #

    I’m not bitching about your bitching about the candidates. You’re more than welcome to blast the current runners all you want. I was more annoyed with the “If you are a gay Republican, shame on you!” at the end of your post. I’m not ashamed to be a republican Michael, they may have some policies I don’t believe in but they’re more inline with my opinions than the dems. I don’t really have any candidate to throw at you. Allen West would be my pick but he is neither in the running nor wants to be.

    • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt June 15, 2011 at 6:58 am #

      Podunk, help enlighten me as to how the Republicans are more in alignment with your views. Currently, the Republican platform is categorically against reproductive rights for women, is pushing to continue DADT, and is pushing to defend DOMA.

  4. Podunk June 15, 2011 at 9:20 am #

    Well, apparently I have just dug a gigantic hole for myself. I suppose I will just reply to the three issues you have pointed out. I am in favor of access to birth control not access to abortion unless in the instance of rape, incest or threat to health. I honestly have no opinion in regards to DADT. A cop out I know but better to admit the truth than to just mindlessly defend the party line. And as for DOMA, I could care less. Not because I am a republican but because even if DOMA was repealed I could still not get married.
    I suppose I should clarify that I’m more of a traditional conservative but I’ll claim republican any day over democrat. Not sure that matters though.

Leave a comment