Hero of the Week Award: July 22

22 Jul

Hero of the Week

Late Tuesday afternoon, Senator Patrick Leahy (D – VT) sent me and many others an email to let us know that President Obama not only played a huge role in working to repeal DOMA, but that:

moments ago, the President went a step further by endorsing the Respect for Marriage Act I’ve put forth to repeal DOMA and restore the rights of all lawfully married couples to receive the full benefits of marriage under federal law.

If this did not bring a tear to your eye, I’m not sure what would. My heart was overfilled with joy witnessing President Obama, Patrick Leahy, and Dianne Feinstein showing true leadership as they push for civil rights! Obama’s endorsement of the Respect for Marriage Act  earns him this week’s HWA.  Bravo, President Obama.  Years from now, we will see that Feinstein, Leahy, Gillibrand, and President Obama were on the right side of  history!  How nice to see True Leadership in the face of cowardice and fear-mongering from the Tea Party. I hope we see full marriage equality in all 50 states within my lifetime. But let us remember that We Who Believe in Freedom Cannot Rest Until It Comes!

Leave a comment