The Sanctity of Marriage…

2 Mar

Normal Married Couple

Today marks the anniversary of my nine year marriage to my husband. We have been together for twelve years, and married for nine. I write this article in response to my rage against those that say there is nothing sacred about same sex marriage–that takes more than gall; it takes profound ignorance, fear, and bigotry. As I look at the wonderfully successful heterosexual marriage of Britney Spears and television shows like The Bachelor, where women are treated as objects and these “bachelors” can pick one as if they were at a cafeteria. I am enraged at the hypocrisy of people like Newt Gingrich and all of his successful marriages, opposing marriage equality.  I am enraged at people claiming that my marriage/partnership is anything less than a normal committed union between two loving and compassionate souls. For those that are preaching about the “sanctity of marriage, why don’t you outlaw divorce!

I really hate women, blacks, and gays!

It is further irritating to now hear that John ( I will thwart the American People at every turn) Boehner is consulting with bigots like Rick (The P is silent) Santorum about hiring a special counsel to defend DOMA.  Take action against these bigots here.  Really, Boehner? So instead of creating jobs, or decreasing the rising unemployment rate, you want to attack women, the poor, and the LGBT community.

Frankly, I’m really tired of being treated as a second class citizen, with over 1,100 rights that my heterosexual peers are entitled to that I am not. Again, this is a civil rights issue–not an issue “let’s take a poll and see if people think the LGBT community deserve equal civil rights.”  My husband and I have a MARRIAGE! We love each other, we support each other, we make each other laugh and cry. We are there for each other during extraordinarily difficult times and good times. When I fell off of our roof ten years ago, and Robert thought I was dead, he stood by me and took off work for two weeks to stay with me in the hospital as they tried to put me back together.  When we moved across the country because Georgia had passed such virulent anti-gay laws and I had a horrible time trying to get used living in the Northwest, we stuck together.

Today we celebrate our ninth wedding anniversary and You don’t get to say what we are allowed to have! I hope within my lifetime that the voices of love, compassion,and courage will drown out the nasty ugly voices of hate and bigotry.

11 Responses to “The Sanctity of Marriage…”

  1. jenny68 March 2, 2011 at 8:32 am #

    We’ve got to normalize gay marriage-
    I guess make it boring, so all these closeted haters can just put up or shut up.

  2. Michele B March 2, 2011 at 12:20 pm #

    Well said! Happy anniversary to you both!

  3. Jennifer March 2, 2011 at 2:58 pm #

    Happy Anniversary to the both of you!
    You have now officially outlasted every sheen marriage by at least 3xs!

    • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt March 2, 2011 at 3:52 pm #

      Jen, Thank you for the anniversary wishes. Sheen is certainly a model of the sanctity of marriage.

  4. Drew & John March 2, 2011 at 4:26 pm #

    Congratulations! That’s a great photo. Hope you have a wonderful anniversary.
    It’s a shame you have to use it a soapbox, but you’ve done a great job of outlining the issues. Love is love.

    • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt March 2, 2011 at 4:37 pm #

      Thank you, Drew and John. I just hope getting on my soap box makes it easier for those following us.

  5. Sara March 2, 2011 at 4:31 pm #

    “All things being equal,” Happy Anniversary to one of the finest couples I know.

  6. combscp March 4, 2011 at 1:09 pm #

    Love is love and love is beautiful, be it between a man and a woman or two men or two women. Fantastic post. 🙂

    • Michael Hulshof-Schmidt March 4, 2011 at 2:43 pm #

      Thanks, Cory! I’m glad we are both agents of change and trying to make the world more fair, just, and equal for ALL.

Leave a comment